Showcasing Quantity and Quality at 2017 Commencement Exercises

The sun was shining and smiles were beaming on the faces of the largest graduating class of Mount Royal Academy last Saturday. The 15 members of the class of 2017 and the 13 students of the class of 2021 were joined by faculty, staff, family, and friends for the commencement exercises in the Saint Joseph Center.

As Headmaster Tremblay noted in his opening remarks, “Quantity is a moot point unless we consider the quality of these candidates before us.” He went on to explain, “What I learned most from this class is that circumstances should never change who you are, or who you are meant to be. You are full of goodness no matter what someone says to you, what happens to you, or even what you have done. People matter more than any broken plan or unexpected letdown.”

The keynote speaker was Charlie McKinney, the founder and leader of a premier and innovative publisher which effectively uses all of the tools in the new evangelization, Sophia Institute Press. He exhorted the graduates to make sure of one thing before chasing their dreams, that they are founded on the truth. Passions and ideals that are not grounded in truth are not worth following and inevitably fail to bring about fulfillment.

Seniors Bernadette Klucinec, Cooper McCrillis, and Kealan Vasquez delivered the commencement address. They each offered fond memories and learned wisdom gathered over their academic careers at the school, as well as their thanks to parents, teachers, coaches and benefactors who made their education possible. Cooper McCrillis was the recipient of the Semper Altius award, a recognition of a student’s academic achievement, spirituality, and character.

The class of 2017 consisted of: Hannah Everitt, Wilson He, John Hogan, Bernadette Klucinec, Faith Lamontagne, Matthew Larosiliere, Cooper McCrillis, Matthew McMenaman, Naomi Nelson, Autumn Rose Prunier, Callan Rees, Joseph Treece, Ian Vasquez, Kealan Vasquez, and Madison Vasquez.

The class of 2021 consisted of: Marius Edwards, Nicholas Hogan, Louis Larosiliere, Jordan McDonnell, Grace McMenaman, Brendan Moorehouse, Peter Orlowski, Maryl Rees, Luke Richardson, Emma Treece, Bridget Wallace, Anna Yost, and Sarah Yost.